close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.


Norman County has an approximate land area of 566,500 acres. The county is 24 miles wide and approximately 37 miles long from east to west.

Norman County is located in the Red River Valley of Minnesota, one of the great farming regions of the world. To the east it is bounded by Mahnomen County, to the south by Clay County, and to the north by Polk. The western boundary is formed by the Red River of the North. 

Norman County has 24 legal townships and nine towns and villages. 




"The Friendly City in the Heart of the Red River Valley" 
City of Ada Website
Ada Borup School District Website
Ada Chamber


Borup is located in Winchester Township on Section 16. Borup was named in honor of Charles William Wolff Borup, a native of Denmark, who came to St. Paul in 1848, and established a banking house there in 1854, the first such in Minnesota. 


The town of Flom, Minnesota, is located on the southeast corner of Norman County.  This is an unincorporated town, and ran by the Township.
Norman County East School Website



"An Excellent Community in Which to Live and Work"
Halstad Website
Norman County West Website


"Everything Your Family Needs to SHINE!"
Hendrum Website
Norman County West Website


Perley is located in the southwest corner of Norman County.  The Red River of the North lies about one mile west of town. Business in Perley is centered around agriculture.Perley Facebook Page


Shelly was platted in 1896, and named for John Shely, an early settler.The spelling of "Shelly" was adopted to distinguish the city from the already existing Shely Township. A post office has been in operation at Shelly since 1896.
Climax-Shelly School

Twin Valley